Asian Kabaddi Championship 2023 schedule out, Busan to host event – World News Network


New Delhi [India], May 10 (ANI): The Asian Kabaddi Championship 2023 is scheduled to be held in Busan, South Korea from June 27 to 30.
The continental kabaddi event will be played after a hiatus of six years. The last edition was held in Gorgan, Iran, in 2017.
Since the inaugural tournament in 1980, the championship has brought together teams from various Asian countries, which include India, Pakistan, Iran and Bangladesh among others.
The Indian men’s kabaddi team is the most successful side in the history of the Asian Kabaddi Championship, winning seven gold medals from the eight editions. Iran won the title in the 2003 edition in Kangar, Malaysia.
This time, India are the defending champions having beaten Pakistan 36-22 in the final in 2017.
In the women’s category, too, India are the defending champions as they defeated South Korea 42-20 in the final in 2017.
The Indian women’s kabaddi team is also the most successful side in the competition having won four gold medals while South Korea have claimed one title in the five editions so far.
The coaching camp for the 40 probable men’s players for the Asian kabaddi meet and the Asian Games began on May 4 at the Patliputra Sports Complex in Patna, Bihar. The camp will end on May 18.
The Asian camp is being held under three coaches – Ashan Kumar, E Bhaskaran and Sanjeev Baliyan. E Bhaskaran, a popular coach in the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL), has been a national coach before.
The trials to select the Indian men’s kabaddi team for the Asian Kabaddi Championship will take place at the Patliputra Sports Complex in Patna, Bihar on May 17.
India squad: Rakesh, Vijay, Durgesh Kumar, Mohit, Nitesh Kumar, Shubham Kumar, Surender Gill, Jaideep, Meetu, Mohit, Mohit Goyat, Pardeep, Saurabh, Surender Nada, Vishal Bhardwaj, Sagar B Krishan, Aksah Santosh Shinde, Aslam Inamdar, Shankar Bhimraj Gadi, Girish Ernak, Pankaj Mohite, Shubham, Siddharth Desai, Maninder Singh, Nitin Rawal, Parvesh, Pawan Kumar, Ravinder Pahal, Sunil Kumar, Vikash, Deepak Hooda, Sachin, Arjun Deswal, Mahender Singh, Manjit, Naveen Kumar, Surjeet, Abhishek Manokaran, Abinesh Nadarajan, Abhishek, Rohit Tomar. (ANI)

Disclaimer: This story is auto-generated from a syndicated feed of ANI; only the image & headline may have been reworked by News Services Division of World News Network Inc Ltd and Palghar News and Pune News and World News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Odisha train accident: DNA samples sent to AIIMS Delhi for identification of deceased – World News Network

Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation Additional Commissioner Suryawanshi Mayur Vikas IAS informed that all 30 collected DNA samples will be sent to AIIMS Delhi and it will take 7 to 8 days to get the report.

“Impact player”: This is how Virat Kohli praises David Warner ahead of WTC final – World News Network

Virat called Warner an "impact player" for Australia. He said that when Warner gets going, it is difficult to stop him as he does not make many mistakes.

Rajasthan: Four killed in road accident in Sikar – World News Network

Four people were killed after a truck rammed into a car in Rajasthan's Sikar on Wednesday.

Envoy visits Mecca, inspects arrangements set up for Indian Hajj pilgrims – World News Network

India in Saudi Arabia tweeted, "Ambassador Dr Suhel Khan visited Makkah and met with Indian Haj Pilgrims coming from various states. Ambassador also reviewed the bus transport arrangements for the Indian Hajj Pilgrims."
Send this to a friend